As more and more tiles are added to the board, it may become difficult to remember which of your tiles have been moved during a movement phase, and which have not. One workaround is to use the movement markers. A third ring is provided to keep them during the game. At the beginning of a turn, all markers are removed from the board. Place a marker atop a each tile you move at the end of its movement. Marked tiles may perform legal captures, but may not otherwise move. Once your turn is complete, remove the markers for your opponent to use.
Usually, all tiles that matter to game play are visible to some extent, but if a player wants to know the color of a completely buried tile before that player begins a movement phase, then temporary removal of one or more covering tiles is allowed for this purpose. The tiles must be returned to where they were. If both players agree at the start of the game to negate this rule, then neither player may lift a tile just to see what lies under it.
In this position the black troop can follow the path indicated by the green arrows to capture the white tile. The red path does not reach the white tile, because position A and position B are not adjacent to each other. Each move step must be to an adjacent position. Positions on adjacent levels are adjacent to each other only if a tile in the higher position would rest on a tile in the lower position. Also, you are not allowed to move into or through any space which would be supported from below by only one tile.
Here, even though black has a commander, neither white tile may be captured on this turn using the pieces shown. The key difference here is that black no longer has a "friendly ramp up" to the second level. If the red path is taken, the commander must stop at position C, which is a non-overhanging space within the ZOC of the opposing tile D. It would probably not be wise for black's commander to end its move with that arrangement, because on white's next turn, the other white tile could demote and immobilize the commander, although as a troop it could not capture the commander with only one supporting friendly tile.
In this position the white commander can wreak havoc on the enemy by following the green path. At each step except the last, the commander is overhanging, so it must continue to move even though it is in some enemy ZOC at each step as well. All 10 MPs are used. The black leader at E is not demoted, but all the tiles F, G, H, i, J, K are captured. The commander would end up either in the space occupied by tile J or tile K, at white's choice. There are several other ways white could capture a large group from the diagrammed position. Capturing is always optional, not mandatory.
Here black has only one entry point at the moment for bringing new tiles onto the board. It would not be legal to move an off-board tile directly to a position above the board surface such as L. Black can move the off-board leader along the green path to capture the white tile at M. Black may not choose to capture N instead, because a capturing tile must be resting on three tiles in order to capture. If black takes the orange path instead, it would have to stop at O, and then it could capture tile P if desired.
In both of these puzzles, white's turn has just begun. Find a way to win in one turn. A single promotion token is available for white on the side of the board. Keep in mind that a tile must stop when it reaches a non-overhanging space adjacent to any opposing tile.